Cooking Term: Mise En Place

This week’s cooking term is one that I have heard and used for the majority of my life. However, I had not seen it spelled until looking it up for this blog post. 😛

“Mise en place”

[mi zɑ̃ ˈplas]

This French phrase means “setting in place”, and, in professional and home kitchens, specifically refers to having all your ingredients ready and “in place” before you begin cooking.

found on Pinterest… from indulgy.com.

I can’t even count the number of times I’ve heard this through the years from my father. It’s good advice! Get those ingredients in place, and you won’t be running around frantically during critical stages of cooking.

One thought on “Cooking Term: Mise En Place

Leave a Reply

