Cooking Terms: Julienne

I’ve posted a lot lately about fashion, make up, colors, and such. So, I thought it’d be fun to start a little series on something more food-related. Perhaps this is due in part to the foodie in me… Perhaps it is due, also, to a certain show we watched a few weeks ago…

Click on the image to learn more about the show.

My mother and I recently had the opportunity to catch a few minutes of the show, “Worst Cooks in America”. The entertainment value was pretty good, but what we really came away with was how sad it was. These “worst cooks” had not a clue in the kitchen.

I’m no pro, but I think I can help to shed a little light on kitchen basics. One of the questions that came up in that episode was, “What does it mean to ‘julienne’?”.

Here’s what Merriam-Webster says:

Julienne

“to slice into thin strips about the size of matchsticks”

From kitchengadgetsandutensils.com.

You can use either a knife, or one of these nifty gadgets, shown above. I think we actually have one of these in our gadgets drawer… Hmm.

Leave a Reply

