A Gift from Us Kids

Growing up is bittersweet. While life is certainly exciting as an adult, there are things about my childhood that I will miss. For instance, during Advent, my siblings and I always memorized and recited Luke 2:1-20. Though I can still quote it, the tradition of working on it with siblings, and reciting it is now just a fond memory.

So last year, as a way to show my mother how grateful we were for her diligence in having us memorize the passage, and how much we cherished the memories, we made her this ornament.

Since we are now separated by many hours, and cannot recite our verses in person, we wrote them for her. Going (if I remember correctly) from oldest to youngest, we wrote the verses (e.g. Laura took verse 1, I took verse 2, and so forth). So now, as you look at the ornament you can almost hear each of our recitations as you read our verses.

Leave a Reply

