Closet Re-Org

Yesterday I finally got in my “closet” (a.k.a. a corner of the sewing room/guest room/etc. that is connected to my bedroom) and reorganized. Organizing is a job I love, but, when it comes to my personal stuff, I’m usually in a mess.

Now that my older sister is married, the second bed in my room is far too often covered in clothes. With as much traveling as I’ve been doing these last few weeks, suitcases and shoeboxes have added to the chaos.

So, it was past time to address the issue. Instead of just hanging my clothes and being done with it, I decided to actually reorganize the whole space and make a new start.

It’s not the best photo, but it’ll give you a good idea of what it looks like.

Our house has no closets, other than a small medicine closet in the hall bathroom, a sort of coat closet under the stairs, and a small closet added into the master bedroom. So, I use wire shelves, shoe shelves, and hanging cubbies to take the place of a closet. Yesterday, I organized the hanging clothes as you see above:

  • Tunics
  • Skirts (roughly by color)
  • Dresses (by color, hung in the corner in order to open up the top of the shoe shelves)
  • Tops (by color)
  • Long Coats (hung to the side, out of the way of the shoe shelves)
Shoe Shelf #1

Shoe Shelf #1

For gig nights, I usually wear stilettos… Which don’t fit well on or under these shoe shelves. But, I did find that they fit pretty well like I have them in the picture above. They would obviously fit fine on the top shelf, but, considering the amount of boots I have, it was clearly reserved for them.

Shoe Shelves #’s 2 and 3

Since the hanging cubbies are holding most of my other shoes, I was able to dedicate all but the top shelf of these last two shoe shelves to clothes. I folded my jeans and cardigans, and laid them in neat piles on the floor (after cleaning it!). The middle shelves hold my “crinkly” skirts – the kind that can be stored in knots.

We’ll see how this system works out! Do you have any favorite organization tricks for closets?

 

 

One thought on “Closet Re-Org

  1. indianreborn says:

    So helpful.. Wish I could click a picture of my cluttered shoe closet!
    Anyway I would love u to check out my website where I sell alternative clothing and shoes – gothinc.in . I see that u love shoes 😉

    Ash

Leave a Reply

