My Hair Routine – Wavy Hair

My sister has always had curly hair, and, through the years, really learned how to work with it well. Thanks to her trial and error, I had some bit of an idea of what I was getting into with my suddenly wavy hair (see yesterday’s post for that story…). So, that, along with some tips from Rachel at Breon, is how I’ve come up with my current, super-simple routine.

Here it is, briefly:

  • Wash with shampoo/conditioner every few days.
  • Scrunch to “dry”.
  • No brushing… ever. (I thought I would never be able to do this. But, it works! I simply don’t need to brush it with waves.)
  • Let it air dry.
  • Work WITH the character – not against.

This is what it turns out looking like:

It’s a big change from my straight hair of yesteryear. But, I like it!

For more details:

I wash my hair about every 2 to 3 days, depending on what I’ve been doing. Right now, I’m using Pantene Pro-V (THIS stuff). It’s affordable, but a notch above Suave.

This has both shampoo and conditioner, so it adds the moisture without weighing my hair down as much as a separate conditioner. If I had more curl, I could probably get away with more conditioner, but, as it is, my hair can still feel/look dirty and heavy with too much added moisturizer.

As I get out of the shower, I squeeze out my hair. I used to do this by slicking my hair back with my hands, and squeezing straight down the ponytail. But, now, that would be working against my waves. The idea is to work WITH the character in your hair as much as possible. So, now, flipping my hair over my head, I lightly gather parts of it in my hands, and scrunch… Basically, I use more of a “push” motion to squeeze out the hair, rather than a “pull” motion.

Then, I do the same thing, but with my towel rather than just my hands.

Before leaving the bathroom, I scrunch my hair (with my hands) some more. No brushing. No combing. Just scrunching. Then, I let it air dry.

Easy-peasy!

One thought on “My Hair Routine – Wavy Hair

  1. Jacqueline says:

    Thanks for sharing these tips! My hair went from straight (not pin straight, but straight) to very wavy when I stopped using commercial products in my hair. It’s been a bit of a learning process as I get used to which natural products work best with my hair and adapt to curlier hair at the same time, so these tips were good to read!

Leave a Reply

