Receiving a Compliment

For some reason or another, receiving compliments can sometimes feel awkward. What do you say? How do you reply? Should you return the compliment?

In my opinion, the best way to receive a compliment, in general, is simply to say, “Thank you.”. Adding a return compliment can be fine, but can also come out sounding obligatory and awkward.

Here’s one example… In the movie “Sabrina”, the leading lady is offered a compliment by her life-long crush. “You look beautiful,” says he. She awkwardly returns, “So do you… look good.”

I found this image on Pinterest. I really love this movie (with Clearplay)!

And, before we move on from the topic of how to receive a compliment, I think I should add one more thing. False modesty is not always appreciated, and often sounds like intentional false modesty… For example, whenever the horrid Mrs. Elton (in “Emma”) received a compliment, she would reply by saying something along the lines of, “Oh, well, I don’t consider myself much of a musician… But, my friends do say that I…” and so forth. She presented both false modesty, and an awkward compliment to herself.

Once again, I found this on Pinterest. What a character!

 

So, to sum it up: Let others praise you. And, when they do, simply thank them.

Oh, and don’t interpret a simple compliment (to you, or anyone else) as, “You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” (- Mr. Darcy, Pride and Prejudice)

Mrs. Jennings… One of the fictitious world’s best at taking compliments to young folks as declarations of ardent love. (…found, of course, on Pinterest…)

 

2 thoughts on “Receiving a Compliment

  1. Emma says:

    (I don’t usually comment because I read all your lovely posts on my iPad inbox… But tonight I’m on the desktop.)

    Hahahaha- YES. Translating, “Wow, you did a really good job with that!” to “You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” I don’t know if it’s just really late, but I’m laughing- you hit the nail head on that one. 😀

Leave a Reply

