Hair Tutorial – Review

Over the past few months (years, really, I guess…) I’ve been experimenting with different ways to curl my stubbornly-straight hair. As much as I love my straight hair, there are those times when I would like some curl or wave.

So, I thought I’d share what I tried last. This picture-tutorial has been lurking around my Pinterest boardΒ for quite awhile…

Wednesday night, I had dry hair. I lightly spritzed each section of hair with water before twisting it and making the tiny buns. A few minutes, some hairspray (just for good measure, you know. I wanted to give it every chance of success…) and several bobby pins later, my hair was ready for bed. Morning came, I added more hairspray, and let down my hair. It was a success! DEFINITELY worth doing again.

Thursday was spent with moderately curly hair… which was incredible for me. But, due to our impressive humidity right now, my curls were almost extinct by the time our gig rolled around. Oh, well.

Do y’all have any ideas for how to maintain curls for those of us who have naturally pin-straight hair?

9 thoughts on “Hair Tutorial – Review

  1. Jacqueline says:

    I don’t have pin-straight hair, so I’m not going to be much help. Just wanted to say that straight hair can be beautiful! My thought is to rock your straight hair – maybe you weren’t meant to have curls πŸ™‚

    • Claire says:

      Great advice! I really do enjoy my natural hair. I love it when you meet folks who actually appreciate their hair the way it is. None of this, “I hate my curls…” or, “If only I could have curls!”. πŸ™‚

  2. hazeleyes97 says:

    you and I are floating in the same boat! πŸ˜€ I have really, really straight hair that has a hard time holding curl, especially in this humidity! The one way I have found so far to keep curl is, after taking a shower let your hair air dry until it is almost dry, then put it up in a top knot on the top of your head, in the morning when you take it down, it should be pretty wavy and textured, which does help hold the curl of your favorite curling technique. πŸ™‚ That and a pretty fair amount of hair spray is all I have found to work so far! πŸ˜€
    I have tried so many curling methods, but this is the one that i have stuck with, and that works the best for my hard-to-hold-curl hair! But still, occasionally the humidity wins, and I am left with straightened hair again! πŸ™‚

    http://www.walgreens.com/store/c/tigi-bed-head-rock-'n-roller-tourmaline-ceramic-styling-iron/ID=prod6172257-product

    • Claire says:

      Sounds like a good idea… I’m finding that, with longer hair, I like to wear my hair up when I sleep, anyway. So, this is a must-try. πŸ™‚ And, wow! What a curling iron! Is there any special method for making the most of such a tool? I’ve never seen on like it…

      • hazeleyes97 says:

        no, there is no special technique. You just simply wrap your hair around the barrel and hold it in place at the end of the piece (since there is no clip). This iron does hurt if you touch it though, it gets really hot, so I would just caution you in that way, so you won’t get roast fingertips! πŸ˜€
        I would agree with Jacqueline too though, that straight hair is beautiful as well, I think that is sometimes hard for us straight-haired gals to appreciate how pretty our natural hair is and can be, but I definitely like curling my hair every now and again for sure. . .I love trying new styles! πŸ™‚

  3. Sarah says:

    I totally relate to this. My hair is also hard to curl and very straight. Sometimes before bed, I will braid several sections of slightly damp hair. In the morning ill take them out, then use a curling iron to make fuller waves, or I’ll just leave it wavy. The trick is finding a maximum hold hairspray that works for you! πŸ™‚

    I’ll definitely have to try this tutorial out sometime!

    ~Sarah

  4. Tricia Ann says:

    I should let you try my curling iron sometime. It is a tapered one without a clamp. It is pretty quick to curl my hair with it, and the curl stays for at least two days, depending on humidity, etc. I bet it would work on your hair.

    Angie also taught me how to do headband curls with an elastic headband, which works fine if you don’t need it to look perfect. πŸ™‚

    • Claire says:

      I really like the idea of the curling rods. In fact, I nearly bought one the other day. πŸ™‚ And I keep looking at those headband curls tutorials… Maybe I’ll give that a try here soon!

Leave a Reply

